January 2023

Mary B. Golubich
5 min readJan 31, 2023

--

Hello everyone! We’re basically through the first month of 2023! Very exciting stuff. This month was full of various things, but my day to day life has stayed pretty much the same: go to work, pick up Liv, go home and Exist, then go to bed. Taking care of Liv definitely adds spice to my daily life, but I’m kind of happy things aren’t so crazy compared to, I don’t know, someone without a 6-month old at home. I like being home with Matt and Liv. It’s nice to spend time with the family, even though I miss crazy nights with my friends. Maybe soon I can have one of those!

In the meantime, here’s what’s been going on in my life:

Friend Time Happened!

Olivia and Mike!

I have friends! I don’t see them as much as I would like, but I have them! This month, I made a point to hang out with someone not in my living space at least once a week. I didn’t quite meet the goal, but I did 3/4 times, which isn’t too bad.

My best friend Cheyenne hung out with me a few times this month. We mostly just watched Markiplier and passed Olivia back and forth, but it was fun. I miss hanging out with Damian because it was nice to just be in the same room as someone and chat about what we were watching, so it was really nice to be able to do that with Cheyenne.

I also saw my friend (and my favorite regular at work) Mike this past weekend. We had some Olivia Time, where we just played with her and talked to her and each other. It was good for Olivia especially because I want her to be able to be friendly to nice people. She’s been feeling shy and scared of strangers lately, so I think it was good for her to visit someone who she’s sort of familiar with, but not as familiar as, say, my mom. The last time she saw Mike, she was only one month old!

Music Obsessions

https://tenor.com/search/i%27m-old-gifs

This month, the only new songs I listen to were the new Fall Out Boy songs (so good) and “Kill Bill” by SZA (also so good). I put one of the new Fall Out Boy song on the playlist!

The rest of the playlist is solely made from songs from any year that ends in 3. So, 2013, 2003, 1993, etc. I’ve been listening to a lot of the Throwback Thursday playlist Spotify updates every Thursday, and I realized that most of the songs I like came out ten or twenty years ago. It makes me feel old! But, I started committing to adding songs from the XXX3 years. I filtered out some of them because I like to have a nice 11 track playlist, but there are at least two songs from each decade that I like.

Next month, I hope I’m able to listen to more new stuff! It’s kind of nice having songs I can sing along to and not skip in the car, but man I miss finding new music.

One Month Down, 11 More To Go

I promise, Olivia is not falling off of my lap it just looks like it cause of how I’m sitting! Lol

I’m looking forward to this year. 2023 has the potential to be a good year for my family and friends. Between Olivia’s first birthday, my best friend Erin getting married, and other fun activities, 2023 has a lot of good things to look forward to. I also am looking forward to feeling better, as physical therapy is going well so far. I’ve pinpointed the physical issues, and now I just have to work them out!

A lot of energy is going into keeping Liv happy and healthy, but I feel like Matt and I are in a good place as well. It’s nice to be able to communicate without getting frustrated; sure, it happens, but we’re able to come back to issues and figure them out in a pretty healthy way. Of course, I like to complain and vent to my friends whenever a problem arises! I think it’s good to get feedback on how to approach people with problems though, and they’ve definitely helped me get my ducks in a row before coming to Matt with any issues I have.

In the same vein, Matt has been really good with keeping me honest about my depression. He’s able to pick up on my lows before I can, and that helps me work towards getting back to a normal mood. I feel like without that check from him, I’d be a frog in a pot of water, not realizing I’m being cooked until I’m in a rolling boil…if that makes sense!

All in all, I think February will be a good month. Matt and I will be together for six years on the 15th, I’m buying my bridesmaid’s dress for Erin’s wedding, and in theory, everything else will be business as usual. We’ll see if everything goes smoothly at the end of next month!

Thanks for reading! I hope you like these monthly life updates as much as I like writing them. If you’re interested in the monthly playlist, click here! And if you’d like to follow my posts, subscribe here on Medium or follow me on Twitter.

I’m gonna go lay down now…Momma Mary is tired. I’ll see you next week with something new!

--

--

Mary B. Golubich

I write stories, as well as music, movie, product reviews and monthly wrap-up journals. Basically, if you can think it, I can write about it.